Home contact us facebook IG twitter  
繁體中文版 english
Home > About TLPGA > History of TLPGA
History of TLPGA
Chairwoman of the TLPGA
Framework of TLPGA
TLPGA Tour Rules
History of TLPGA
Originally belong to the TPGA (Taiwan Professional Golf Association), of which 269 members were male dominant, the 39 female members set up the Ladies Committee (LPGA for short). Ms. Angie Tsai was appointed head of the committee for two consecutive terms, and launching 3 inaugural events in 2000, setting the foundation for independence. During Ms. Tsai’s personally leave, deputy Ms. Yueh-Chyn Huang took over the responsibility.

In 2001, the TLPGA completed its application to became a national civil organization lawfully recognized by the Ministry of the Interior of Taiwan, and held its first council election. Ms. Yueh-Chyn Huang was elected the first Chairlady.

In 2002, was the inaugural year for the TLPGA & Royal Open. This is the longest running tournament in TLPGA history, with the continuous support from the Royal Golf Club.

In 2003, the TLPGA Fan Club was founded. Ms. Swan Wang and Mr. Yue-Zheng Wu were appointed as the President and Vice President respectively to help enhance social support and volunteering works. Chairwoman Huang nominated Mr. Jun-Xing Lin of Archilife Research Foundation, as the Honorary Chairman, for his generosity in funding the TLPGA pro-junior tour since 2003.

In 2004, Ms. Angie Tsai succeeded Ms. Yueh-Chyn Huang as the second Chairlady and was re-elected in 2007. Through Chairman Tsai’s devotion, the TLPGA total purse continues to grow and breaks 12 millions NTD in 2008.

In 2009, Two new international events, Hitachi Ladies Classic and Taifong Ladies Open were added to the tour, and total purse breaks 20 millions NTD mark.

In 2010, Ms. Yi-Chen Liu was elected as the fourth Chairlady.

In 2011, Chairlady Liu successfully building a nationwide tour, covering all regions include North, Central and South region in Taiwan. With the additional of 5 new pro-junior events (Yeang-Der Heritage Tour, Wu-Fong Heritage Tour, Taichung International Heritage Tour, Nan-Yi Heritage Tour, Takangshan Heritage Tour) and 2 new international events(Swinging Skirts Open, Swinging Skirts Invitational), total purse breaks 46 millions NTD.

In 2012, the TLPGA Tour (TLPGT) 3-tier concept is gaining acceptance by the sponsors, and added 5 new international events (Yeang-Der Open, Technology Cup, Fubon Open, Chinatrust Open, South Taiwan Open), reaching 14 events, total purse breaks 70 millions NTD.

The TLPGT total prize money has been growing by leaps and bounds since, almost doubling the prize check each year. In July 2012, Chairwoman Liu flew to the U.S. Open site to attend Women's World Golf Rankings (WWGR) committee, filing the first application for TLPGT. The TLPGA has 84 official members as of December, 2012.

In 2013, the TLPGT added 2 strong supporters Chung Cheng Golf Foundation and Kenda Tires (Chung Cheng Heritage Tour, Chung Cheng Ladies Open, Kenda Tires TLPGA Open).  Another breakthrough is co-sanctioning the first overseas event (Japan Yumeya Dream Cup) under mutual friendly exchange with LAGT.  The growth of TLPGT to a scale of 19 events and 143 millions NTD impressed WWGR committee.  However, there are still two issues needed further strengthening - the execution of open qualifying tournament and the membership pool.

In 2014, the TLPGA became the first partner to co-sanction with LPGA on the US soil (Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic) as well as gaining 3-year co-organizing right of the LPGA Taiwan leg (Fubon LPGA Taiwan Championships). With the scale and international status further enhanced, TLPGT finally received the official WWGR acceptance on the historical date of July 17th. From then on, as a member of WWGR, TLPGT qualified events started receiving recognition and ranking points as other member tours (USLPGA, JLPGA, KLPGA, LET, ALPG, Symetra, LETAS, LGU). This is a milestone marking TLPGA on the world map of golf.

International Crown was also a recognition for Taiwan as our players’ strength made top 8th in the world to earn invitation to the inaugural event. TLPGA members Yani, Teresa, Pheobe and Candie teamed up in the biennial event to battle for the glory.

Through chairlady Liu’s continual efforts, TLPGT gained more new events (Jing-Du Construction Charity Ladies Open, Party Golfers Ladies Open, Ching Yeh Paint TLPGA Open and CTBC Ladies Open). In 2014, TLPGT scale reached 162 million NTD, which is 5th largest tour in the world, just behind US, Japan, Europe and Korea.

In 2015, TLPGA partnered with Ladies Philippine Golf Tour (LPGT) for the first time, co-sanctioning 2015 ICTSI Ladies Open. TLPGA also co-sanctioned with Ladies Asian Golf Tour (LAGT), HKPGA, HKGA and Hong Kong Golf Club to make possible the first official ranking ladies professional golf event in Hong Kong. These partnerships are big steps for TLPGA’s goal of enhancing tournaments on international grounds, and connecting with other tours in the world.

In 2016, TLPGA co-sanctioned 2 tournaments (Florida’s Natural Charity Classic & Chico’s Patty Berg Memorial) with Symetra Tour, showing the effort to establish higher level of tournaments through connecting to the world. This was also the first time that TLPGT co-sanctioned with Symetra Tour, bringing Taiwanese players to a different level. This year, the TLPGA total purse grew and reached 199 million NTD, which made a new record.

In 2016, Ms. Mei-Chi Cheng succeeded as the sixth Chairlady.

In 2017, Japan Taiwan Friendship Udon-Ken Ladies Golf Tournament took place in Japan. It marked the pioneer TLPGA co-sanction event with JLPGA Step Up Tour. In the same year, the Swinging Skirts Golf Foundation took over to host Swinging Skirts LPGA Championship Taiwan, and raised the purse to 66 million NTD.

In 2018, Chairlady Cheng extended coverage to southern Taiwan, gaining 3 events TLPGA Ladies Open - Nan Pao, Tainan Professional Golf Ladies Open, and Kaohsiung Golf Heritage Tour.

In 2019, Taiwan Women’s Golf Open(TWGO) was re-launched in Hsin-Yi Golf Club after a halt of 13 years. Organized by GAROC, and co-sanctioned by TLPGA and KLPGA.

In 2019, Ms. Yi-Chen Liu was elected as the seventh Chairlady.

As of the end of December 2019, TLPGA membership has reached 130.

黃玥珡 Huang, Yueh-Chyn
Huang, Yueh-Chyn
 Second & Third
蔡采君(麗香) Angie Tsai
Angie Tsai
 Forth & Fifth
劉依貞(素卿) Liu, Su-Ching
LIU, Yi-Chen
Cheng, Mei-Chi
Cheng, Mei-Chi
劉依貞(素卿) Liu, Su-Ching
LIU, Yi-Chen
About TLPGA l Announcement l Contact us  l